What is a Vegetarian?


Vegetarians do not eat the flesh of animals. There are two types of vegetarians. Lacto-Vegetarians don’t eat meat, fish or eggs. Vegans do not eat any animal products, including dairy and honey. Sometimes people who eat eggs are called Lacto-Ovo Vegetarians but they are not truly vegetarians because eggs are the flesh of an unborn animal.


The roots of vegetarianism can be traced back to India’s ancient Vedic culture. In Vedic culture animals were given shelter and protection in same way as children and other dependents. Cows were considered to be like a person’s mother and there were strict laws against mistreating them or killing them. Killing a cow was considered to be like killing one’s mother. Cows and animals were treated with such love that, to this day, followers of Vedic culture and many people in India worship cows and consider them holy. In ancient Vedic culture, vegetarian food, including milk, was used as a spiritual offering. By this offering both the animal or plant that produced the food and the human who offered it received spiritual benefit.

In this day and age most animals raised for meat and milk are grossly mistreated until their lives are ended in a slaughterhouse. Many people become vegan because they don’t want to support or be part of a system that propagates the mistreatment and killing of animals.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top